Released: May 28, 2002

Songwriter: Joe Trohman Pete Wentz Patrick Stump Mike Pareskuwicz

Producer: Jared Logan Fall Out Boy

[Verse 1]
I dried my eyes, now I'll crust them with sleep
I'll crust them over
She begged me, "Don't hate me"
She spun me a story

Where winning looks like losing
And I'm winning every time
So thread spools, sweetie, get ready
Until my silk is sold

Growing up
Growing up
Growing up

Yeah! I'll find myself anew
Yeah! I'll find myself anew

[Verse 2]
I've dried my eyes, now it's "Rushmore"
I'm deep with futures like Chicago
No, Glenview never meant a thing to me
She never meant a thing to me
Except for putting idealists in a body bag

Forget it
I'll go out tonight and piss on her doorstep
And listen to The Misfits "Where Eagles Dare"
To swallow whole

Growing up
Growing up

Whoa, I guess I'm my own better half
Whoa, I guess I'm my own better half

Whoa, yeah, I guess I'm on my own
Yeah, yeah, I guess I'm on my own
Yeah, I guess I'm on my own
Yeah, yeah, yeah, I guess I'm on my own

Fall Out Boy

Fall Out Boy is an American rock band hailing from Wilmette, Illinois. The band was formed in 2001 by Pete Wentz, who supplies bass and lyrics to the band, and guitarist Joe Trohman, who both used to be part of metalcore band Arma Angelus. Trohman later recruited vocalist Patrick Stump, who initially tried out as the band’s drummer, after meeting him in a bookstore. After the release of Project Rocket/Fall Out Boy, a split EP with Project Rocket. It was recorded without current drummer Andy Hurley due to him being disinterested in the project; Hurley later joined in 2003 as a replacement touring drummer.

Fueled By Ramen, who were a small independent label at the time, personally called Fall Out Boy to ask them to record a full-length record after hearing one of their demos online. This album became their 2003 debut, Take This To Your Grave, and was a tipping point between the band’s underground success to success in the mainstream. It was the band’s last album to feature Stump as the lead lyricist.

The band’s 2004 acoustic EP, My Heart Will Always Be the B-Side to My Tongue, became their first charting release and gave fans a taste of what to expect on their sophomore album From Under The Cork Tree. The album creation was set back in February 2005 after Wentz’s suicide attempt, which influenced songs such as “7 Minutes In Heaven (Atavan Halen).” The album was released in May 2005 through Island Records, featuring guest vocals from William Beckett of The Academy Is… and Brendon Urie of Panic! At The Disco.